> ## Knowledge Base Index
> Fetch the complete knowledge base index at: https://help.optery.com/sitemap.xml
> Use this file to discover available pages before exploring further.
> Pure-Markdown content can be obtained by appending a '.md' suffix to the content URLs listed in the sitemap (without the trailing slash).

# How do I disable the auto-renewal of my subscription?

By default, Optery's subscriptions auto-renew at the end of your billing term (i.e. Monthly or Yearly). 

If you do not wish your plan to auto-renew at the end of your current monthly or yearly term, simply cancel your plan at any time, and all future billing and auto-renewal will stop.

|| After your paid plan is cancelled, your paid subscription plan will remain active for the remainder of your billing term (i.e. for the remainder of the month or year of your current billing term), and then will downgrade automatically to the Free Basic tier AFTER your billing term ends so you receive the value of your last subscription payment.  

Steps to cancel your account:

1. [Log in](https://app.optery.com/login) to your Optery account

2. Click on [Account](https://app.optery.com/account) in the left navigation

3. Scroll to the bottom of the page and then click the red button that says "Cancel Plan"

A frequent misconception is that profiles are immediately added back to the data brokers after a paid plan subscription is cancelled, but this is not the case.  Every data broker honors opt outs a little bit differently. Some data brokers honor opt outs indefinitely, but others require monthly or annual monitoring effort to ensure your name and personal info stays removed. This is why we recommend keeping your account at Optery active on an ongoing basis.

And you can learn more about [how long opt out removals last on our Help Desk here](/en/article/when-my-data-is-removed-from-a-data-broker-is-this-permanent-16lu9pu/).